Spontaneous day trips are always the best! 

So I thought I would tell y’all about my fab day I had with one of my good friends Shannon. We spent the day exploring Shoreditch and pretty much ate our body weight in food. I’m now In bed with a belly full of cookie dough! 

Our first trip was to The Blues Kitchen. Basic, but a must when visiting East London. We started off with cocktails – A Bloody Mary and a Mojito. The Mojito was fresh, not too much ice and tasted how I’d like it. The Bloody Mary was a recommendation however, we each reluctantly  sipped the infused tomatoe juice and had no more… It was over done with too much pepper. 


We both ordered a selection of appetisiers. Chicken Wings in Blue cheese Sauce, Tortilla Chips with Spinach, Artichoke and Parmesan dip, Sweet Potatoe fries and Calimari. The service was speedy and the food was hot. My personal favourite was the Tortilla chips. The sauce was hot and had a slight pesto twang to it. I love Pesto- Shannon enjoyed tucking into the calimari. 

The only down fall was that there was a hair in the spinach and Parmesan sauce so I couldn’t finish my favourite dish! Yuck yuck yuck… I was deeply sad. The Waitress was very professional and took money off our bill. Thank goodness! 

I’d say 7 stars out of 10 for this place! 

Our next trip was to Naked Dough. A pop up bar purley for somebody with a sweet tooth. The concept was diverse and brought out my inner child. The pop-up literally just serve cookie dough with different flavoured toppings. I believe they had milkshakes too but I don’t think my teeth could have handled the sugar intake for one day. 

https://www.naked-dough.co.uk/

  • Unicorn Food
  • Emoji Poos
  • Nak- Ed Sheeran
  • Mud bath
  • Nuttin better
  • Hazels nuts

I opted for Unicorn food, Shannon went for Nuttin Better. I could only have a few bites until the pudding got quite sickley but lids are convieniantly provided so you can tuk back into it later.


This is me having a great time

8 Out of 10!

Lastly, we ended up at the Magic Roundabout. It took me a while to realise that we were literally on the roundabout of Old Street station to understand that was why it had its name. Very swanky, the music has a chilled vibe and a very lovely bunch of people to surround yourself with. The alcohol was reasonable – £20 for a jug of PIMMS had me at hello so I couldn’t complain.

The pop-up venue has a sort of Balearic/ edgy vibe with upside down umbrellas, disco balls and water foundations- accompanied by fake grass. Overall I love themed bars but it could have done with another seating area.

There were also a series of pop up food stools which I quickly made friends with. I headed straight over to the burger stand “burger bears” and opted for the “grizzly bear” – Fresh burger, bacon, cheese, bacon jam in a bun and lettuce. There was also a potatoes skin pop-up.

9 out of 10 – I give this place an extra point for the array of vintage/floral/s**** shirts I saw.

And there we have it! So our spontaneous day turned into our very own food festival. Three places I would for sure go back too. I have even come up with an idea for my Birthday which involves everyone purchasing a funky shirt. So be prepared if ya knoo me!


Love Sheps!

Leave a Reply

